Jan. 18, 2023 - Paterson Public Schools Awarded $2.5 Million In Federal Full Service Community Schools Funds

Download PDF

Grant to bring more services to Public School No. 16, Alonzo Tambua Moody Academy

PATERSON – Paterson Public Schools officials announced today that the district has been awarded a grant from the U.S. Department of Education’s Full Service Community Schools program. The grant is in the amount of $499,959 and is expected to be renewed annually for 5 years for a total award of $2,499,795 and will benefit Public School No. 16 and the Alonzo Tambua Moody Academy.

“For the past 12 years, the district’s Full Service Community Schools have been helping to provide for the needs of our students and their families so that our students can succeed,” said Superintendent of Schools Eileen F. Shafer. “This federal funding will help the district continue Full Service Community Schools programs at two schools, allowing students and families to access critical services more conveniently and helping them to always be at their best.”

“Our school district here in Paterson has a bold vision for the future. With this federal grant and the leadership of our Superintendent Eileen Shafer, Paterson’s students and schools are leading the way in community engagement,” said U.S. Congressman Bill Pascrell, Jr., a former teacher and Paterson mayor.  “My office works every day to secure federal grants like this because our students deserve no less and I am extremely proud that we were able to bring this investment home. Paterson’s entire school system will always have an ally in Bill Pascrell. You can take that to the bank.”

Programs and services to be provided with the grant funding include an in-school health clinic with medical, dental, and mental health services; in-school academic assistance; after-school programs for students; adult education programs such as ESL and workforce development; and targeted supports for at-risk students.

Shafer expressed her gratitude to the following government officials for their advocacy of the district’s grant application:  U.S. Representative Bill Pascrell, Jr.,  N.J. State Assemblyman Benjie E. Wimberly, N.J. State Assemblywoman Shavonda E. Sumter, and Paterson Mayor Andre Sayegh.

Shafer also thanked the Paterson Public Schools team that worked to pursue the funding including Deputy Superintendent Dr. Susana Peron, Full Service Community Schools Director Jenna Goodreau, and Associate Projects Director Kristy Wellins. Shafer also thanked Kemper McDowell, Executive Director of Family and Community Engagement and Full Service Community Schools Department; and

Gilman Choudhury, Supervisor of Full Service Outreach and Special Projects in the Family and Community Engagement and Full Service Community Schools Department.

Paterson Public Schools has a total of 10 Full Service Community Schools. In addition to School 16 and the Alonzo Tambua Moody Academy, the others are Public School No. 5, the Senator Frank L. Lautenberg School, Public School No. 15, the New Roberto Clemente School, the Dr. Frank Napier School of Technology, John F. Kennedy High School, Public School No. 2, and the Joseph A. Taub School.