departmentPaterson Public Schools

Department of Special Education Services

  • Welcome
  • Parent Resources
  • Contact Us


The mission of the Paterson Public School District, Department of Special Education Services is to provide referral, identification, evaluation and instructional services to students identified as disabled through the identification process.  The Department of Special Education works closely with the members of the Intervention and Referral Services (I&RS) to locate and identify students with disabilities in need of special education services.  Once students have been identified in need of an evaluation, the child study team works closely with the parent and instructional staff to determine if the student is a student with a disability AND requires special education services.


The Department of Special Education consists of an administrative staff of a Coordinating Director, Director of Compliance, Director of Child Study Teams, Director Special Education Instruction, Director of Out of District Placements, Supervisors of Special Education Services and Parent and Community Services.

At the school levels there are Child Study Teams consisting of School Psychologists, Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultants, Speech-Language Specialists and Social Workers who evaluate and write individual educational programs for students with disabilities.  There are teachers of students with disabilities who provide instruction as outlined in each student’s IEP and speech/language specialists, occupational therapists and physical therapists who provide direct service to students.


To provide for the achievement of every identified child through individualized programs and services.


Parent Resources


Parental Rights for Special Education

pdf English    pdf Spanish    pdf Portuguese    pdf Arabic    pdf Korean








Gloria Bodker

Executive Director of Special Education Services

Maribel Franco

Administrative Secretary

Katori Walton

Fiscal Monitor

Nicole Heid

Supervisor of Schools 1, 18, 26, Dale Ave., Early Learning Center, Early Childhood Special Education

Erika Lum

Supervisor of Schools 7, 9, 15, 20, 28, 29, Don Bosco Academy, Martin Luther King/School #30, New Roberto Clemente, Norman S. Weir, CEIS, and Home Instruction

Dr. Renee Archer

Supervisor of Schools 2, 19, 27, Destiny/ROADS, RPHS
973-321-1000 x23908

Cynthia Costa

Supervisor of Schools 3, 8, 11, 24, Roberto Clemente and SEMI/Fiscal & Compliance

Jannilka DeLeon

SEMI Coordinator

Stephen Frith

Supervisor of Schools 4, 5, 6, 10, 12, 13, 14, 21, 25, AHA, EWK, ULA and Out of District and Juvenile Justice

Brenda Robinson

Supervisor of Schools PANTHER, SILK City, STARS, HARP, Great Falls, YES, SBA/PSA, International High School/Garrett Morgan
973-321-1000 x27633

Temitope David

Chairperson – JFK ACT, BTMF, SET, STEM
973-321-1000 x50153

Tanisha Tuck

Chairperson – EHS CAHTS, GOPA, SOIT
973-321-1000 x51141

Dorothy "Dottie" Surita

McKinney-Vento (Displaced Students and Families)


High Schools

Elementary Schools

Elementary Academies

Alternative Education