departmentPaterson Public Schools

topSpecial Education


  • Welcome

  • Resources
  • Community
    Resources
  • Teacher
    Resources
  • Home
    Instruction
  • Contact
    Us

Welcome

Welcome to the Department of Special Education where our goal is to deliver quality education to students with special needs ages 3 to 21 through a continuum of services in the least restrictive environment possible.

Our staff consists of an Executive Director, Supervisors, School Psychologists, Social Workers, Learning Disabilities Teacher-Consultants, Special Education Teachers, as well as Instructional and Personal Assistants. Related service providers include Speech Language Specialists, Occupational and Physical Therapists, Behaviorists, and Itinerant Teachers of the Deaf.

We encourage the active participation of parents through our Special Education Advisory Council. The Council meets quarterly and provides opportunities for parents and community members to offer input to the district on special education issues. We look forward to working with you to achieve each student’s educational and career goals.

Core Beliefs and Educational Philosophy

We believe that all students are capable of learning through a shared responsibility of students, families, educators and community which is critical to the student’s success. We believe that each student has a right to an environment that is accessible, emotionally nurturing, physically safe, purposefully engaging, and intellectually challenging thereby preparing all children for the college and career of their choosing.

Parent Resources:

Parental Rights for Special Education

pdf English    pdf Spanish    pdf Portuguese    pdf Arabic    pdf Korean

Special Education & Bilingual Advisory Council Meeting Schedule 2014 - 2015:

pdf\ English     pdf\ Spanish

Resources

New Jersey Resources 2018 Directory is the annual edition published by the New Jersey Department of Human Services’ Division of Disability Services (DDS). The Directory is intended to be a comprehensive resource identifying programs and services to individuals with disabilities, their families, caregivers, and advocates.   

Project Child Find 

Project CHILD FIND is a free referral service and public awareness campaign to assist in the identification of unserved/underserved youth with a delay or disability from birth through twenty-one years of age.

Passaic County Youth Resource Directory

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Community Resources

Gifted & Talented Links
National Association of Gifted Children
Website: http://www.nagc.org/

New Jersey Association for Gifted Children (NJAGC)
Website: http://www.njagc.org/

Johns Hopkins University (CTY) Center for Talented Youth
Website: http://cty.jhu.edu/

Rutgers University
Website: http://gifteded.rutgers.edu/

Young Scholars/Courses in Gifted
Website: http://www.davidsongifted.org/youngscholars/

Special Education Related Links

American Association on Intellectual & Developmental Disabilities Website: www.aaidd.org

American Disability Association (ADnet)
Website: www.ADAnet.org

Center for Hearing and Communication
Website: www.chchearing.org

American Association of People with Disabilities
Website: www.aapd.com

 

Special Education Related Links - continued

Parents with Disabilities Online
Website: www.disabledparents.net

Autism Speaks
Website: www.autismspeaks.org

NCLD - National Center for Learning Disabilities
Website: www.ncld.org

The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) Website: http://www.cec.sped.org

Cerebral Palsy of North Jersey    
Website: www.cpnj.org

National Federation for the Blind-NJ     
Website: www.nfbnj.org

The Arc of New Jersey            
Website: www.arcnj.org

The International Dyslexia Association 
Website: www.interdys.org

Learning Disabilities Association of America - New Jersey                   
Website: www.ldanj.org

Performcare
Website: www.performcarenj.org

 

 

 

 

Home Instruction

Sabrina Tigney-Gerald

Home Instruction Special Education Coordinator
973-321-0731
sgerald@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Department Directory

Cheryl Coy

Chief Special Education Officer
973-321-2216
ccoy@paterson.k12.nj.us

Starr Morrison

Confidential Secretary to the Chief Special Education Officer
973-321-0677
morrisons@paterson.k12.nj.us

Tanya Cain

McKinney-Vento Coordinator
973-321-0721
cain_9048@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Jannilka DeLeon

SEMI/EASY IEP Coordinator
973-321-2365
jroca@paterson.k12.nj.us

Wanda Acosta-Asmar

School Social Worker/Mc Kinney Vento Education of Homeless Children and Youth Program Liaison
973-321-0632
wasmar@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Special Education Child Study Team (CST & OOD) Supervisory Team

Alicia Van Diver

Schools: MCKINNEY VENTO, Schools 5, 14, 19, 27, MOBILE CST, Preschool, Elementary OOD, ULA, YMA
973-321-0854
avandiver@paterson.k12.nj.us

Rontai Carswell

Schools: 21, EWK, 13, 3, 9, 8, Dr. Hani
973-321-2229
rcarswell@paterson.k12.nj.us

Keya Romney

Schools: 2, 29, 7, DBA, AHA, 6 & 10
973-321-2451
kromney@paterson.k12.nj.us

  James Albert

Schools: NRC, 15, RC, NSW, 18,26, & 1
973-321-0858
jalbert@paterson.k12.nj.us

Candice Vargas 

Schools: 16, 24, 25, 28, 4, P 12, & Dale Avenue
973-321-0637
cvargas@paterson.k12.nj.us

High School Special Education Supervisory Teams

Dr. Renee Archer

Schools:  JFK
973-321-0502
rarcher@paterson.k12.nj.us

Brenda Robinson

Schools: International & GMA, Panther, Silk, RPHS, STARS, HARP, & GFA
973-321-1000 x51177
brobinson@paterson.k12.nj.us

Temitope David

Schools:  Eastside
973-321-1000 x50153
tdavid@paterson.k12.nj.us

Elementary Special Education Curriculum & Instructional Supervisory Team

Carlita Rodriguez

Base School 15, Schools: 8, 15, NRC, Newcomers
crodriguez@paterson.k12.nj.us

Bernadette Murray

Base School MLK, Schools: 3, 5, MLK,
bmurray@paterson.k12.nj.us

Philomena Adams

Schools: 12, 21, 26, DBA
padams@paterson.k12.nj.us

Tracey Acosta

Base School 2, Schools: 2 (Autism), 6 (Autism), Rutland (Autism), Dale (Autism)
tacosta@paterson.k12.nj.us

Janelle Sisco

Base School 28, Schools: 6, 28, NRC, 26
jsisco@paterson.k12.nj.us

Behavioral Disorder Supervisory Team

Cynthia Sisco

Base School MLK, School: MLK
csisco@paterson.k12.nj.us

Nicole Gibbs

Base School 20, School 20
ngibbs@paterson.k12.nj.us

footer

Complete List of Schools


High Schools

Elementary Schools

Elementary Academies

Alternative Education

 

Complete List of Departments