departmentPaterson Public Schools
top

Special Education

  • Welcome

  • Resources

  • Community
    Resources
  • Teacher
    Resources
  • Home
    Instruction
  • Contact
    Us

Welcome

Welcome to the Department of Special Education where our goal is to deliver quality education to students with special needs ages 3 to 21 through a continuum of services in the least restrictive environment possible.

Our staff consists of an Executive Director, Supervisors, School Psychologists, Social Workers, Learning Disabilities Teacher-Consultants, Special Education Teachers, as well as Instructional and Personal Assistants. Related service providers include Speech Language Specialists, Occupational and Physical Therapists, Behaviorists, and Itinerant Teachers of the Deaf.

We encourage the active participation of parents through our Special Education Advisory Council. The Council meets quarterly and provides opportunities for parents and community members to offer input to the district on special education issues. We look forward to working with you to achieve each student’s educational and career goals.

Core Beliefs and Educational Philosophy

We believe that all students are capable of learning through a shared responsibility of students, families, educators and community which is critical to the student’s success. We believe that each student has a right to an environment that is accessible, emotionally nurturing, physically safe, purposefully engaging, and intellectually challenging thereby preparing all children for the college and career of their choosing.

Parent Resources:

Parental Rights for Special Education

pdf English    pdf Spanish     pdf Arabic   

 

DDS NJ Division of Disability Services

DDS website

DDS Brochure:  
English
    Spanish

DDS Personal Assistance Services Program (PASP)
Brochure

 

NJ DHS Division of Developmental Disabilities Office on Autism
A Family Guide for Navigating the New Jersey Service Systems for Individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorders

 

Resources

New Jersey Resources 2020-2021 Directory is the annual edition published by the New Jersey Department of Human Services’ Division of Disability Services (DDS). The Directory is intended to be a comprehensive resource identifying programs and services to individuals with disabilities, their families, caregivers, and advocates.   

Project Child Find 

Project CHILD FIND is a free referral service and public awareness campaign to assist in the identification of unserved/underserved youth with a delay or disability from birth through twenty-one years of age.

Passaic County Youth Resource Directory

 

Special Education IEP Process

 

Español

عربى

Türkçe

বাংলা

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Community Resources

Gifted & Talented Links
National Association of Gifted Children
Website: http://www.nagc.org/

New Jersey Association for Gifted Children (NJAGC)
Website: http://www.njagc.org/

Johns Hopkins University (CTY) Center for Talented Youth
Website: http://cty.jhu.edu/

Rutgers University
Website: http://gifteded.rutgers.edu/

Young Scholars/Courses in Gifted
Website: http://www.davidsongifted.org/youngscholars/

Special Education Related Links

American Association on Intellectual & Developmental Disabilities Website: www.aaidd.org

American Disability Association (ADnet)
Website: www.ADAnet.org

Center for Hearing and Communication
Website: www.chchearing.org

American Association of People with Disabilities
Website: www.aapd.com

 

Special Education Related Links - continued

Parents with Disabilities Online
Website: www.disabledparents.net

Autism Speaks
Website: www.autismspeaks.org

NCLD - National Center for Learning Disabilities
Website: www.ncld.org

The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) Website: http://www.cec.sped.org

Cerebral Palsy of North Jersey    
Website: www.cpnj.org

National Federation for the Blind-NJ     
Website: www.nfbnj.org

The Arc of New Jersey            
Website: www.arcnj.org

The International Dyslexia Association 
Website: www.interdys.org

Learning Disabilities Association of America - New Jersey                   
Website: www.ldanj.org

Performcare
Website: www.performcarenj.org

 

 

 

 

Home Instruction

Sabrina Tigney-Gerald

Home Instruction Special Education Coordinator
973-321-0731
sgerald@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Department Directory

 

Cheryl Coy

Assistant Superintendent of
Special Education and Services
973-321-2216
ccoy@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Alicia Pavone

Director
973-321-0688
apavone@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Starr Morrison

Confidential Secretary to
the Assistant Superintendent of
Special Education and Services

973-321-0677
morrisons@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Jannilka DeLeon

SEMI/EASY IEP Coordinator
973-321-2365
jroca@paterson.k12.nj.us

Sabrina Gerald

Coordinator of Special Education
Home Instruction

973-321-0731
sgerald@paterson.k12.nj.us

Zenaida Diaz

Coordinator of Special Education
OOD Contracts and Transportation

973-321-2396
zdiaz@paterson.k12.nj.us

Monica Munoz

Student Records
973-321-0855
mmunoz@paterson.k12.nj.us


McKinney-Vento

mckinneyvento@paterson.k12.nj.us

Tanya Cain

McKinney-Vento Coordinator
973-321-0721

Tiffany Jacobs

McKinney-Vento Coordinator
973-321-0632


Special Education Child Study Team (CST & OOD) Supervisory Team

Tracy Acosta

Schools: Autism programs only
– 2,6, Rutland, Dale and 20

tacosta@paterson.k12.nj.us

James Albert

Schools: 3, 4, 12, 18, 21, 28, EWK, AHA, NSW
973-321-0858

jalbert@paterson.k12.nj.us

Rontai Carswell

Schools: 5, 7, 10, 13, 19, 27, 29, DBA

rcarswell@paterson.k12.nj.us

Temitope David

Schools: 3, 4, 12, 18, 21, 28, EWK, AHA, NSW

tdavid@paterson.k12.nj.us

Kiai Jones

All District Related Services
Schools: YMA,

kjones@paterson.k12.nj.us

Bernadette Murray

Schools: 1, 8, 9, 15, 16, 24, 25, 26, Hani, NRC, Newcomers, RC

bmurray@paterson.k12.nj.us

Tammy Harrell-Simmons (BD)

Schools: HARP, MLK

tsimmons@paterson.k12.nj.us

Keya Romney

Schools: 5, 7, 10, 13, 19, 27, 29, DBA
973-321-2451

kromney@paterson.k12.nj.us

Alicia Van Diver

Schools: 20, EHS, JFK

avandiver@paterson.k12.nj.us

Janelle Sisco

Schools: 6, 20, STARS

jsisco@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Candice Vargas

Schools: 1, 8, 9, 15, 16, 24, 25, 26, Hani, NRC, Newcomers, RC
973-321-0637

cvargas@paterson.k12.nj.us


High School Special Education Supervisory Teams

Dr. Renee Archer

Schools: JFK, ATMA, PANTHER
973-321-0502

rarcher@paterson.k12.nj.us

Brenda Robinson

Schools: EHS, HARP, IHS-GMA, RPHS
973-321-0502

brobinson@paterson.k12.nj.us

Kenneth Sumter - Compliance

Schools: JFK, EHS, HARP, IHS-GMA, ATMA, PANTHER, STARS, RPHS ksumter@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

footer

Complete List of Schools

 

School Building Administrators

Operational Units 2021-2022


High Schools

Elementary Schools

Elementary Academies

Alternative Education

 

Complete List of Departments