departmentPaterson Public Schools
top

Department of Special Education Services

  • Welcome
  • Parent Resources
  • Contact Us

Mission:

The mission of the Paterson Public School District, Department of Special Education Services is to provide referral, identification, evaluation and instructional services to students identified as disabled through the identification process.  The Department of Special Education works closely with the members of the Intervention and Referral Services (I&RS) to locate and identify students with disabilities in need of special education services.  Once students have been identified in need of an evaluation, the child study team works closely with the parent and instructional staff to determine if the student is a student with a disability AND requires special education services.

Staff:

The Department of Special Education consists of an administrative staff of a Coordinating Director, Director of Compliance, Director of Child Study Teams, Director Special Education Instruction, Director of Out of District Placements, Supervisors of Special Education Services and Parent and Community Services.

At the school levels there are Child Study Teams consisting of School Psychologists, Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultants, Speech-Language Specialists and Social Workers who evaluate and write individual educational programs for students with disabilities.  There are teachers of students with disabilities who provide instruction as outlined in each student’s IEP and speech/language specialists, occupational therapists and physical therapists who provide direct service to students.

Vision:

To provide for the achievement of every identified child through individualized programs and services.

 

Parent Resources

 

Parental Rights for Special Education

pdf English    pdf Spanish    pdf Portuguese    pdf Arabic    pdf Korean

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gloria Bodker

Executive Director of Special Education Services
973-321-0431
gbodker@paterson.k12.nj.us

Maribel Franco

Administrative Secretary
973-321-2216
maribel@paterson.k12.nj.us

Katori Walton

Fiscal Monitor
973-321-0638
kwalton@paterson.k12.nj.us

Nicole Heid

Supervisor of Schools 1, 18, 26, Dale Ave., Early Learning Center, Early Childhood Special Education
973-321-0858
nheid@paterson.k12.nj.us

Erika Lum

Supervisor of Schools 7, 9, 15, 20, 28, 29, Don Bosco Academy, Martin Luther King/School #30, New Roberto Clemente, Norman S. Weir, CEIS, and Home Instruction
973-321-0637
elum@paterson.k12.nj.us

Dr. Renee Archer

Supervisor of Schools 2, 19, 27, Destiny/ROADS, RPHS
973-321-1000 x23908
rarcher@paterson.k12.nj.us

Cynthia Costa

Supervisor of Schools 3, 8, 11, 24, Roberto Clemente and SEMI/Fiscal & Compliance
973-321-0688
ccosta@paterson.k12.nj.us

Jannilka DeLeon

SEMI Coordinator
973-321-2365
jroca@paterson.k12.nj.us

Stephen Frith

Supervisor of Schools 4, 5, 6, 10, 12, 13, 14, 21, 25, AHA, EWK, ULA and Out of District and Juvenile Justice
973-321-0677
sfrith@paterson.k12.nj.us

Brenda Robinson

Supervisor of Schools PANTHER, SILK City, STARS, HARP, Great Falls, YES, SBA/PSA, International High School/Garrett Morgan
973-321-1000 x27633
brobinson@paterson.k12.nj.us

Temitope David

Chairperson – JFK ACT, BTMF, SET, STEM
973-321-1000 x50153
tdavid@paterson.k12.nj.us

Tanisha Tuck

Chairperson – EHS CAHTS, GOPA, SOIT
973-321-1000 x51141
ttuck@paterson.k12.nj.us

Dorothy "Dottie" Surita

McKinney-Vento (Displaced Students and Families)
973-321-0632
dsurita@paterson.k12.nj.us

footer

High Schools

Elementary Schools

Elementary Academies

Alternative Education