departmentPaterson Public Schools
top

Special Education


  • Welcome
  • Community
    Resources
  • Teacher
    Resources
  • Home
    Instruction
  • Contact
    Us

Welcome

Welcome to the Department of Special Education where our goal is to deliver quality education to students with special needs ages 3 to 21 through a continuum of services in the least restrictive environment possible.

Our staff consists of an Executive Director, Supervisors, School Psychologists, Social Workers, Learning Disabilities Teacher-Consultants, Special Education Teachers, as well as Instructional and Personal Assistants. Related service providers include Speech Language Specialists, Occupational and Physical Therapists, Behaviorists, and Itinerant Teachers of the Deaf.

We encourage the active participation of parents through our Special Education Advisory Council. The Council meets quarterly and provides opportunities for parents and community members to offer input to the district on special education issues. We look forward to working with you to achieve each student’s educational and career goals.

Core Beliefs and Educational Philosophy

We believe that all students are capable of learning through a shared responsibility of students, families, educators and community which is critical to the student’s success. We believe that each student has a right to an environment that is accessible, emotionally nurturing, physically safe, purposefully engaging, and intellectually challenging thereby preparing all children for the college and career of their choosing.

Parent Resources:

Parental Rights for Special Education

pdf English    pdf Spanish    pdf Portuguese    pdf Arabic    pdf Korean

Special Education & Bilingual Advisory Council Meeting Schedule 2014 - 2015:

pdf\ English     pdf\ Spanish

Community Resources

Gifted & Talented Links
National Association of Gifted Children
Website: http://www.nagc.org/

New Jersey Association for Gifted Children (NJAGC)
Website: http://www.njagc.org/

Johns Hopkins University (CTY) Center for Talented Youth
Website: http://cty.jhu.edu/

Montclair State University
Website: http://www.montclair.edu/gifted/

Rutgers University
Website: http://gifteded.rutgers.edu/

Young Scholars/Courses in Gifted
Website: http://www.davidsongifted.org/youngscholars/

Special Education Related Links

American Association on Intellectual & Developmental Disabilities Website: www.aaidd.org

American Disability Association (ADnet)
Website: www.ADAnet.org

Center for Hearing and Communication
Website: www.chchearing.org

American Association of People with Disabilities
Website: www.aapd.com

Children’s Disabilites Information
Website: www.chidlrendisabilites.info

Special Education Related Links - continued

Parents with Disabilities Online
Website: www.disabledparents.net

Autism Speaks
Website: www.autismspeaks.org

NCLD - National Center for Learning Disabilities
Website: www.ncld.org

The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) Website: http://www.cec.sped.org

Cerebral Palsy of North Jersey    
Website: www.cpnj.org

National Federation for the Blind-NJ     
Website: www.nfbnj.org

The Arc of New Jersey            
Website: www.arcnj.org

The International Dyslexia Association 
Website: www.interdys.org

Learning Disabilities Association of America - New Jersey                   
Website: www.ldanj.org

Performcare
Website: www.performcarenj.org

 

 

 

 

Home Instruction

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Department Directory

Gloria Bodker

Executive Director of Special Education Services
973-321-0431
gbodker@paterson.k12.nj.us

Catherine Forfia-Dion

International Baccalaureate Coordinator
973-321-2541
cforfia@paterson.k12.nj.us

Maribel Franco

Administrative Secretary
973-321-2216
maribel@paterson.k12.nj.us

Katori Walton

Fiscal Monitor
973-321-0638
kwalton@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Rita Routé

Supervisor of Gifted & Talented Education
973-321-0819
rroute@paterson.k12.nj.us

Jannilka DeLeon

SEMI Coordinator
973-321-2365
jroca@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Dorothy "Dottie" Surita

McKinney-Vento (Displaced Students and Families)
973-321-0632
dsurita@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Special Education Supervisors

Elizabeth Caccavella

Schools: 3, 4, 5, 8, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 19, 24, 25, 27, ULA, RC
973-321-0688
ecaccavella@paterson.k12.nj.us

Dr. Yelena Gould

Schools: 28, NSW, STARS, Alternative Middle School, DESTINY, Great Falls, HARP, IHS/GMA, PANTHER, ROADS, Rosa Parks, YES

973-321-0677
ygould@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Alicia Pavone

Schools: Early Childhood, 1, 2, 6, 18, 20, 21, 26, AHA, Dale Ave., ELC, MLK
973-321-0858
apavone@paterson.k12.nj.us

Candice Vargas

Schools: Early Childhood, 6, 7, 9, 11, 29, DBA, NRC, ELC, EWK, Silk City
973-321-0637
cvargas@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

High School Special Education Supervisory Teams

Tanisha Tuck

Schools: CAHTS, GOPA, SOIT
973-321-1000 x51141
ttuck@paterson.k12.nj.us

Dr. Renee Archer

Schools: CAHTS, GOPA, SOIT
973-321-1000 x23908
rarcher@paterson.k12.nj.us

Temitope David

Schools: ACT, BTMF
973-321-1000 x50153
tdavid@paterson.k12.nj.us

Brenda Robinson

Schools: SET, STEM
973-321-1000 x27633
brobinson@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

School Based Supervisors

Kiai Jones

Schools: DFNA (4), 10, 13
973-321-0100
kjones@paterson.k12.nj.us

Jaime Conti

Schools: 7, 9, 27, DALE, EWK, NSW, 29, AHA
973-321-0330
jconti@paterson.k12.nj.us

Jennie Cadet

Schools: 3, 5, 15, DBT
973-321-0050
jcadet@paterson.k12.nj.us

Janelle Sisco

Schools: 6, 28, NRC
973-321-0280
jsisco@paterson.k12.nj.us

Rontai Carswell

Schools: 2, 12, 25
973-321-0120
rcarswell@paterson.k12.nj.us

Kiakoma Roberts

Schools: 8, 18, 21, 26
973-321-0260
kroberts@paterson.k12.nj.us

Carlita Rodriguez

Schools: 11, 20, 24, MLK
973-321-0160
crodriguez@paterson.k12.nj.us

Nicole Gibbs

Schools: 20 EBD Program (K-4)
973-321-0200
ngibbs@paterson.k12.nj.us

Naiobe Sharrock

Schools: MLK EBD Program (5-8)
973-321-0300
nsharrock@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

footer

High Schools

Elementary Schools

Elementary Academies

Alternative Education