departmentPaterson Public Schools
top

Special Education


  • Welcome
  • Community
    Resources
  • Teacher
    Resources
  • Home
    Instruction
  • Contact
    Us

Welcome

Welcome to the Department of Special Education where our goal is to deliver quality education to students with special needs ages 3 to 21 through a continuum of services in the least restrictive environment possible.

Our staff consists of an Executive Director, Supervisors, School Psychologists, Social Workers, Learning Disabilities Teacher-Consultants, Special Education Teachers, as well as Instructional and Personal Assistants. Related service providers include Speech Language Specialists, Occupational and Physical Therapists, Behaviorists, and Itinerant Teachers of the Deaf.

We encourage the active participation of parents through our Special Education Advisory Council. The Council meets quarterly and provides opportunities for parents and community members to offer input to the district on special education issues. We look forward to working with you to achieve each student’s educational and career goals.

Core Beliefs and Educational Philosophy

We believe that all students are capable of learning through a shared responsibility of students, families, educators and community which is critical to the student’s success. We believe that each student has a right to an environment that is accessible, emotionally nurturing, physically safe, purposefully engaging, and intellectually challenging thereby preparing all children for the college and career of their choosing.

Parent Resources:

Parental Rights for Special Education

pdf English    pdf Spanish    pdf Portuguese    pdf Arabic    pdf Korean

Special Education & Bilingual Advisory Council Meeting Schedule 2014 - 2015:

pdf\ English     pdf\ Spanish

Community Resources

Gifted & Talented Links
National Association of Gifted Children
Website: http://www.nagc.org/

New Jersey Association for Gifted Children (NJAGC)
Website: http://www.njagc.org/

Johns Hopkins University (CTY) Center for Talented Youth
Website: http://cty.jhu.edu/

Montclair State University
Website: http://www.montclair.edu/gifted/

Rutgers University
Website: http://gifteded.rutgers.edu/

Young Scholars/Courses in Gifted
Website: http://www.davidsongifted.org/youngscholars/

Special Education Related Links

American Association on Intellectual & Developmental Disabilities Website: www.aaidd.org

American Disability Association (ADnet)
Website: www.ADAnet.org

Center for Hearing and Communication
Website: www.chchearing.org

American Association of People with Disabilities
Website: www.aapd.com

Children’s Disabilites Information
Website: www.chidlrendisabilites.info

Special Education Related Links - continued

Parents with Disabilities Online
Website: www.disabledparents.net

Autism Speaks
Website: www.autismspeaks.org

NCLD - National Center for Learning Disabilities
Website: www.ncld.org

The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) Website: http://www.cec.sped.org

Cerebral Palsy of North Jersey    
Website: www.cpnj.org

National Federation for the Blind-NJ     
Website: www.nfbnj.org

The Arc of New Jersey            
Website: www.arcnj.org

The International Dyslexia Association 
Website: www.interdys.org

Learning Disabilities Association of America - New Jersey                   
Website: www.ldanj.org

Performcare
Website: www.performcarenj.org

 

 

 

 

Home Instruction

Sabrina Tigney-Gerald

Home Instruction Special Education Coordinator
973-321-0731
sgerald@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Department Directory

Cheryl Coy

Acting Chief Special Education Officer
973-321-0431
ccoy@paterson.k12.nj.us

Maribel Franco

Confidential Secretary
973-321-2216
maribel@paterson.k12.nj.us

Katori Walton

Fiscal Monitor
973-321-0638
kwalton@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Jannilka DeLeon

SEMI/EASY IEP Coordinator
973-321-2365
jroca@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Camille Easton

Senior Specialist
Non-Public/McKinney-Vento (Displaced Students and Families)

973-321-0637
ceaston@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Special Education Supervisors

Wanda Acosta-Asmar

Schools: Pre-K Centers, 9, 11, AHA, DBA, Dale Ave., NSW, ELC, 16, Homebased PK
973-321-0858
wasmar@paterson.k12.nj.us

Alicia Van Diver

Schools: 3, 8, 12, 14, 15, 19, 27 29, ULA, OOD
973-321-0854
avandiver@paterson.k12.nj.us

  James Albert

Schools: 4, 5, 6, 7, 18, 28, EWK, NRC, YMA
973-321-0637
jalbert2@paterson.k12.nj.us

Rontai Carswell

Schools: STRIVE, 1, 2, 10, 13, 21, 24, 25, 26, RC, HANI
973-321-2229
rcarswell@paterson.k12.nj.us

High School Special Education Supervisory Teams

Dr. Renee Archer

Schools:  JFK- (SET, STEM), Silk City, Panther
973-321-0502
rarcher@paterson.k12.nj.us

Brenda Robinson

Schools: EHS- (CAHTS, GOPA, SOIT),  International, GMA, STARS
973-321-1000 x51177
brobinson@paterson.k12.nj.us

Temitope David

Schools:  JFK –( ACT, BTMF) DESTINY, Great Falls, ROSA PARKS
973-321-1000 x50153
tdavid@paterson.k12.nj.us

Kelinda Young

Schools: EHS- (CAHTS, GOPA, SOIT), HARP, YES
973-321-1000 x51177
kyoung@paterson.k12.nj.us

Site Based Supervisors

Tracey Acosta

Base 2, Schools: 2 (Aut), 6 (Aut), Rutland (Aut), Dale (Aut
tacosta@paterson.k12.nj.us

Kia Jones

Base 10, Schools: 4, 10, 13, 21, YMLA
kjones@paterson.k12.nj.us

Janelle Sisco

Base 28, Schools: 6, 28, NRC, 26
jsisco@paterson.k12.nj.us

Keya Romney Battiste

Base 12, Schools: 5, 12, 15, DBA
kromney@paterson.k12.nj.us

Bernadette Murray

Base 25, Schools: 18, 25, MLK
bmurray@paterson.k12.nj.us

Cynthia Sisco

Base MLK, School: MLK
csisco@paterson.k12.nj.us

Vacancy

Base EWK, Schools: 7, 9, 27, Dale (res), EWK, NSW, 3

Carlita Rodriguez

Base 20, Schools 11, 8, 24
crodriguez@paterson.k12.nj.us

Nicole Gibbs

Base 20, School 20
ngibbs@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

footer

Complete List of Schools


High Schools

Elementary Schools

Elementary Academies

Alternative Education

 

Complete List of Departments