food servicesPaterson Public Schools
top

Department of Food Services


  • Welcome
  • Your Child's
    Health
  • Classroom
    Breakfast
  • Hunger
    Free

  • Catering

  • Links
  • Food Service
    Feedback Form
  • Contact
    Us

Department of Food ServicesFood terminal

 

 

Your Child's Health

One hour to better health - Fifth-graders at School 15 got an energetic visit from New York Giants cornerback, Prince Amukamara. Mr. Amukamara came to Paterson as part of the Giant’s “Fuel Up to Play 60” initiative aimed at getting kids moving and eating healthy. While at School 15, the rising football star spent time doing numerous exercises with the students and spoke about nutrition and health. The program’s name alludes to the notion that all it takes is 60 minutes a day for kids to have a healthier lifestyle. The program is funded by the NFL in association with the National Dairy Council.

 

Fuel up to Play 60

 

 

Classroom BreakfastClassroom Breakfast

An extension of the CEP program is the district’s “Breakfast after the Bell” initiative which provides early morning nutrition after school has started, ensuring that the children begin their studies on a full stomach. Prior to Breakfast After the Bell, morning meals were typically provided around 7:45 AM, precluding many children who could not arrive at that early hour.

Early results are showing that the children who are receiving breakfast in the classroom are more attentive, and less inclined to focus on lunch hour, when they might have previously received their first meal of the day. Based upon demographics, our district’s entire student population qualifies for this new initiative. Promotional Flyer

 

Classroom Breakfast  Classroom Breakfast

Hunger Free

Hunger-free means enhanced learning - Paterson Public Schools is among 32 New Jersey school districts now offering free breakfast and lunch to children under the federal Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act. The two daily meals will now be provided regardless of an individual family’s income. The former procedure required families to go through a complicated, intensive application process in which verification of the families’ low income was the main provision for providing meals. Now, under the Community Eligibility Provision (CEP), entire schools can qualify based upon their high percentages of low income students.

TV report about the CEP program

 

 

 

Links

 

 

USDA

got milk Jersey Fresh Let's Move
       

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Food Service Feedback Form

We in the Department of Food Service value your feedback and would like to hear from you. Let us know what you are thinking by completing the information below. Thank you!

Food Service Department

 

 

 

 

A value is required.

 

Contact Us

Food Service Department Organization Chart

David Buchholtz

Director of Food Services
Office: 973-321-0957
Fax: 973-321-0953 / 973-321-0968
dbuchholtz@paterson.k12.nj.us

John Gorlach

Chief of Operations
Office: 973-321-0958
jgorlach@paterson.k12.nj.us

Rick Gelo

Operations Manager
Office: 973-321-0959
rgelo@paterson.k12.nj.us

Steve Harris

Field Manager
Office: x 50924
sharris@paterson.k12.nj.us

John West, Sr

Field Manager
Office: x 50925
jwest@paterson.k12.nj.us

Sameh Abdulazeez

IT Project Manager
Office: x 50927
sabdulazeez@paterson.k12.nj.us

Petra Efelis

Wellness Coordinator
Office: x 50926
pefelis@paterson.k12.nj.us

Andrea Sierra

Assistant Accountant
Office: x 50922
asierra@paterson.k12.nj.us

Barbara McCormick

Assistant Accountant
Office: x 50929
bmccormick@paterson.k12.nj.us

Rafael Diaz

Warehouse Foreman
Office: x 50913
radiaz@paterson.k12.nj.us

Selma Copeland

Administrative Secretary
Office: x 50923
scopeland@paterson.k12.nj.us

Jackie Younge

Administrative Secretary
Office: x 50920
jyounge@paterson.k12.nj.us

Administrative Secretary

Administrative Secretary
Office: x 50919
fssecretary@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

footer

Complete List of Schools


High Schools

Elementary Schools

Elementary Academies

Alternative Education

 

Complete List of Departments