Family and Community Engagement

  • Welcome



  • Parent
    University


  • Full
    Service
    Community
    Schools
  • Full
    Service
    Community
    Center
  • Parent
    Teacher
    Organizations

  • Parent
    Resources


  • Events
    Calendar


  • Contact Us



 

Our Mission

The mission of our department is to ensure that every parent has the tools necessary to give their children the best possible chance for success. Our drive is to fill in the gaps where parents may not know the best practices for student competency in their academic skill set. Having a holistic approach of full parental involvement, professionalized staff members, and a clear partnership-based approach, it can eliminate the social-economic obstacles they face.

Our Vision

We value education; it is essential to challenge their critical thinking skills meanwhile implementing an individualized educational plan to assist students strive for academic success. However, we empathize and understand that they are emotional and social beings that need a combination of care and love to be effective learners. That entails understanding the realities our children come from. To believe that every child comes from a cookie cutter household is a disservice to them. By knowing that each household the child comes from may not be the most optimal for child development is one of the key factors in turning around a child.
However, the focus cannot be on the person but the system they come from. Be it the family or community, the drive and belief in the community/school model is to foster change in the society around the child. For if the child comes from a stronger community, the child will then become a much better student and member of our society.

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Parent university Logo.

 

The Parent University is one of the major strategies of the Family and Community Engagement Department’s efforts to provide parents and community stakeholders with the information they need to nurture their child’s success in school. Workshops provide information around 5 categories: health and nutrition, parental development, job skills development, and advocacy. Our most recent workshops have included how to operate Google Classroom, building student success, reducing stress during the time of COVID-19, financial literacy for young adults, and resume writing. Many of our workshops are made available in multiple languages and, whenever possible, video recordings of the events are posted to this page. Check back at this page often to know when the next Parent University workshops are scheduled.

 

Google Classroom Resources

Click here to see videos for students and parents on how to use the different functions available in the Google Classroom suite.

 


 

 

 

Upcoming Events

 

 

 

Full Service Community Schools Program

FSCS Logo. Click here to go to the dedicated Full Service Community School page.

A Full Service Community School is a school – the heart of its community, a safe place to unite families, educators, and community partners who provide all students with top-quality academics, enrichment, health and social services, and opportunities to succeed in school and life. In Paterson, we have seven Full Service Community Schools that offer a variety of services such as after school and summer programs, school-based health clinics, behavior and mental health counseling, mentoring and anti-bullying programs, chronic absenteeism support, enrichment activities, college and career preparation, adult education programs, parent and family workshops, and access to social services through our various partnerships. See below for services and programs offered at your neighborhood Full Service Community School and contact your school’s FSCS coordinator or health clinic for more information.

Meet Vilmary Hernandez, one of our Full Service Community Schools site coordinators.

 

Conozca a Vilmary Hernandez, una de nuestras coordinadoras de las Escuelas Comunitarias de Servicio Completo.

 

 

Click here to read the FSCS Newsletter/Blog for highlights of our school community

 

Paterson Full Service Community Schools – Services by School

 

After School Programs

Summer Programs

School-based Health Clinics

Behavioral and Mental Health Counseling

Mentoring Programs/ Chronic Absenteeism

Adult Education

Parent and Family Workshops

School 2

x x x x x

 

x

 

School 5

x

 

x x x x x

 

School 15

x x x x x x x

Dr. Frank Napier Academy

x x x x x

 

x

New Roberto Middle School

x

 

x x x x x

Senator Frank Lautenberg School

x x x x x x x

John F. Kennedy Educational Complex

x x x x x

 

x

 


Jenna Goodreau

Director of Full Service Community Schools
(973) 321-0713

jgoodreau@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

 

FSCS Coordinator Contact Information

School 2
Site Coordinator: Jessica Abreu, jabreu@paterson.k12.nj.us
Health Clinic: Brenda Clark, bclark@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

School 5
Site Coordinator: Michael Rodriguez, mrodrigueznjcdc@paterson.k12.nj.us
Health Clinic: Nargis Akther, nakther@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

School 15
Site Coordinator: Ashley Shaw, shawa@paterson.k12.nj.us
Health Clinic: Shalika Ulloa, sulloa@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Napier
Site Coordinator: Amber Santos, asantos@paterson.k12.nj.us
Health Clinic: Victoria Vargas, vargasv@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

New Roberto Clemente
Site Coordinator: Vilmary Mercado-Hernandez, vhernandez@paterson.k12.nj.us
Health Clinic: Jenny Cepeda, jcepeda@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

SFLS
Site Coordinator: Vanessa Alvarez, valvarez@paterson.k12.nj.us
Health Clinic: Diane Savage, dsavage@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

JFK
Site Coordinator: Nicole Sweeney, sweeneyn@paterson.k12.nj.us
Health Clinic: Taylor Weber, tweber@paterson.k12.nj.us

Full Service Community Center

The Paterson Public Schools Full Service Community Center (FSCC) is located in the heart of Paterson’s fifth ward on the corner of Market Street and Madison Avenue. During the last two years, the center has become a relied-upon resource for the residents and parents in the area. The center attempts to support families by offering activities that increase communication between parents and teachers via English as a Second Language (ESL) classes, parenting classes, job skills training, mental health support, emergency food distribution and health clinic services. All of these efforts are based on the premise that when the family is supported, children are supported.

 

 

 

If you have questions, want to know more about upcoming workshops, registration & much more, please contact me.
Habla Español 

Evelyn Peña, District Wide Community Outreach Liaison

office: 973-321-2481      cell: 201-308-3249

epena@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

 

 

Parent Teacher Organizations

The Paterson Public School’s PTO Leadership group is a consortium of PTO officers from each of our schools who work collectively to ensure that parents have well functioning parent organizations. This is accomplished through various activities such as executive board trainings, Leadership meetings, fundraising planning, and exposure opportunities. PTO officers are elected by their peers and work towards ensuring that parents have a voice in district decision making and planning. In addition, PTO officers represent our parents at the state level during state budget hearings & planning discussions.

 

Welcome Back!
From the Paterson PTO Leadership

 

Parent Of The Month

 

New Parent Nomination
Coming Soon!

 

Steps for nominating a leader of the month:
-This recognition/ nomination was created to acknowledge and give thanks to those PTO leaders who go above and beyond for their school and the PTO Leadership.
-The nominated PTO leader name can be submitted to the PTO Leadership Executive Board/ FCE in 3 different ways: Coordinator/ FCE nomination, Principal nomination, PTO Leadership and/or PTO Leadership Executive Board nomination.
-The PTO Executive Board and Department of FCE will decide and vote on the nominated leader of the month.

Parent & School Compact

The Department of Family & Community Engagement invites parents to complete the Parent & School Compact. This compact has been developed to outline how parents, and school staff, will work together as a team and share in the responsibility of our students' academic achievements. This is a requirement from our Federal Title I Grant, which provides funding for our school district and children. Please share with your families, schools, and school social media accounts.

 

Click the image below to complete the form!

 

 

 

PTO Events

 

 

 

 

Parent Resources

Organization  Contact Person   Contact Number  Emails
Community Partners
New Jersey Community Development Corporation David Gelman 973-413-1622 dgelman@njcdc.org
Paterson Habitat for Humanity Alina Castro 973-595-6868 X108 alina@patersonhabitat.org
City Green Jennifer Papa 973-869-4086 jenniferpapa@city-green.org
Community Food Bank Jeanne Fournier 908-355-3663 X 338 jfournier@cfbnj.org
CUMAC Eileen Marrero 973-742-5518 emarrero@cumacecho.org
Early Childhood
Greater Bergen/Paterson Head Start Mary Cudina 201-968-0200 X 7709 mary.cudina@greaterbergen.org
4CS of Passaic County Philomise Laguerre 973-684-1904 X 240 plaguerre@4cspassaic.net
Education
Department of Education Tonya Hall-Coston 609-376-9077 tonya.hall@doe.nj.gov
Paterson Education Association   973-881-9445  
Paterson Public Schools - Department of Guidance & Counseling Tamisha McKoy 973-321-2366 tmckoy@paterson.k12.nj.us
SPAN Sanny Ochoa 973-642-8100 fochoa@spanadvocacy.org
William Paterson University: School of Continuing and Professional Education Iris Dimaio 973-720-2491/973-390-0340 dimaioi@wpunj.edu
Passaic County Community College Tonya Anderson 973-684-6683 tanderson@pccc.edu
Government Services
Department of of Home Energy and Weatherization Josephine Sardina 973-247-3345 giuseppinas@passaiccountynj.org
Department of Labor and Workforce Development     Gillian.Gutierrez@dol.nj.gov
Community Policing Division   973-321-1174  
Department of Environmental Protection   609-984-9802  
Health
City of Paterson, Division of Health Dr. Paul Persaud 973-321-1277 ppersaud@patersonnj.gov
Partnership of Maternal and Child Health of Northern New Jersey Marie Kinsella 973-942-3630 X 25  mkinsella@partnershipmch.org
Passaic County Department of Health Nanuette Lane 973-881-4396 NanuetteL@passaiccountynj.org
Paterson Community Health Center Dr. Garner 973-790-6594 garnermr@aol.com
Planned Parenthood of Metropolitan New Jersey Karinna Gonzalez 973-622-3900 X 1501 Karinna.Gonzalez@ppmnj.org
SIDS Center of NewJersey Dr. Ostfeld 800-545-7437 ostfelba@rwjms.rutgers.edu
Community Food Bank of NJ Maria Lopez 908-355-3663 X533 mlopez@cfbnj.org
Paterson Coalition Against Substance Abuse Jessica Elicin 908-355-3663 X 502 patersoncasa@gmail.com
Amerigroup   800-600-4491  
NJ FamilyCare Jacqueline Fisher 609-631-6443 Jacqueline.Fisher@conduent.com
St. Joseph's Ask For Department 973-754-2000  
WellCare Indira Martir 201-407-1134 vanya.arista@wellcare.com
Social Services
Family Intervention Services Tara Jackson 973-324-7879 X 280 tara.jackson@centerffs.org
NJ 2-1-1 Melissa Acree 1-877-652-1148 macree@nj211.org
Northeast New Jersey Legal Services Eric Hughes 973-523-2900 X 3278 ehughes@lsnj.org
Passaic County Board of Social Services Lisbeth 973-881-3201 llopez@pcbss.org
Paterson Task Force Lana Stokes 973-279-2333 lstokes@patersontaskforce.com
Oasis - A Haven for Women & Children Jim Walsh 973-881-8307 X 123 jimwalsh@oasisnj.org
Department of Human Services, Division of Family Development (SNAP & TANF) Ask for Field Representative 973-684-1904 X 238  
Eva's Village Leslie DeBlasio 973-523-6220 X304 Leslie.DeBlasio@evasvillage.org
Straight & Narrow Ruth Jean-Marie 973-345-6000 X 6258 rjeanmarie@straightandnarrowinc.org
Youth Consultation Service Edna Angelos 973-907-0633 eangelos@ycs.org
Manavi (Bangladesh organization) Farhana Bhuiyan 732-610-6189 farhana@manavi.org

Special Education IEP Process

 

Español

عربى

Türkçe

বাংলা

Student Meal Distribution

Prepackaged food ready for distribution. Click here for the Student Meal Distribution page.

 

Visit Infinite Campus

Infinite Campus Logo. Click here to go to

Track your students' attendance.
Review progress reports.
Check report cards.
See their class assignments.

 

Campus Parent

Campus Parent App Logo. Choose either the Google Play or Apple App Store logos below to get the app!

 

Google Play logo. Click here for the Campus Parent App for Android. Apple App Store logo. Click here for the Campus Parent App for Ios.

Campus Student

Campus Student App Logo. Choose either the Google Play or Apple App Store logos below to get the app!

 

Apple App Store logo. Click here for the Campus Student App for Ios.

 


 

Learn How To Activate Your Infinite Campus
Parent Portal Account

 

Registering on The Campus Parent Portal

Step 1: Get the activation code from the Main Office your child’s school

Step 2: Visit the Infinite Campus site via the logo above

Step 3: Click on “Campus Parent”

Step 4: Click on “New User” in the bottom left corner

Step 5: Enter your activation code

 

English

Español

 

 

 

 

Parent University Event Calendar

 

 


 

Full Service Community Schools Calendar

 

William Kemper McDowell

Executive Director of Family & Community Engagement
(973) 321-0889

wmcdowell@paterson.k12.nj.us


 

Gilman Choudhury

Supervisor of Full Service Outreach & Special Projects
(973) 321-0888

gchoudhury@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Evelyn Peña

District Wide Community Outreach Liaison
office: (973) 321-2481

cell: (201)-308-3249

epena@paterson.k12.nj.us

Doris Morrison

Substitute Secretary
(973) 321-0884

dmorrison@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Bridget Arrick

District-Wide Community Outreach & Special Projects Coordinator
(973) 321-0883

barrick@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

Contact Your Parent Coordinator or Home School Liaison

Tonya Busch

Parent Coordinator

Senator Frank R. Lautenberg

tbusch@paterson.k12.nj.us

Theresa Claudio

Parent Coordinator

Parent Resource Center

tclaudio@paterson.k12.nj.us

Martha Colon

Parent Coordinator

Parent Resource Center

mcolon@paterson.k12.nj.us

Evelyn Demarest

Home School Council Liaison

Young Men Leadership Academy

edemarest@paterson.k12.nj.us

Jennifer Foxworth

Home School Council Liaison

Don Bosco Technology Academy

jfoxworth@paterson.k12.nj.us

Monther Harb

Parent Coordinator

Parent Resource Center

mharb@paterson.k12.nj.us

Joann Harris

Parent Coordinator

PS No. 20

jharris@paterson.k12.nj.us

Maguie Kajajian

Parent Coordinator

Charles J. Riley

mkajajian@paterson.k12.nj.us

Darlene Morris

Parent Coordinator

Dr. Frank Napier Jr.

dmorris@paterson.k12.nj.us

Tamika Moss

Home School Council Liaison

PS No. 28

mosst@paterson.k12.nj.us

Jahaira Ortiz

Parent Coordinator

PS No. 15

ortizj@paterson.k12.nj.us

Travis Parker

Home School Council Liaison

Parent Resource Center

trparker@paterson.k12.nj.us

Patricia Quispe

Parent Coordinator

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

pquispe@paterson.k12.nj.us

Saidur Rahman

Parent Coordinator

PS No. 5

rahmans@paterson.k12.nj.us

Yolanda Simmons

Parent Coordinator

PS No. 12

ysimmons@paterson.k12.nj.us

Elizabeth Tobdzic

Home School Council Liaison

Parent Resource Center

ltobdzic@paterson.k12.nj.us

Shalimar Williams

Parent Coordinator

PS No. 10

shwilliams@paterson.k12.nj.us

 

footer

Complete List of Schools

 

School Building Administrators

Operational Units 2021-2022


High Schools

Elementary Schools

Elementary Academies

Alternative Education

 

Complete List of Departments